Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
more itchy knittings!
22 décembre 2007

stashbusting ! chasse au stash !

It is back in 2005, I think, that I bought a considerable amount of this cashmere and lamb blend in Lille, France. We were visiting La Lainière de Wazemmes, and the place proved to be sort of dangerous. In this huge store packed to ceiling with low-price yarn, you roam around in a second state, petting and drooling, muttering in a repetitive fashion "c'est pour rien! c'est pour rien!" ('it costs peanuts') and you find yourself back home staring at 30 balls of the same stuff.

Well, you simply had a yarn crash. That's life.

2_cash

The broadway cardi didn't eat it all, so I picked up one of my long-time favourite patterns, a lovely yoke sweater from Dale. I had 4 balls of the lighter shade of cashmere and lamb, in the prospect of some colourwork. Middle brown, light brown, a super classy combination, no risk, no coulour clash, no faute de goût, a sweater that could go to the office. Bleh. Ain't life at the office boring enough ?!?

Since last summer, I've been doing some dyeing-in-the kitchen. Well, it works wonders. Have too much of the same yarn ? Need to rev'up some old colour combination ? Grab your silk-and-wool dyes and get that microwave working. Et voilà !

3_cash

Just THE colour I wanted. That's really nice to be able to make your own, to get exactly what you had in mind. Much more easy with dyeing than with knitting, actually. You know what ? Dye gauge doesn't lie !!

This yarn doesn't wear very well (after all it really was a bargain) but at least it's lightweighted and very warm. I want to finish this sweater as fast as I can. It's getting pretty cold here and I simply need it to put around my ribs! So please excuse me but I'll get back to my cup of tea and clicking needles.

15008_1

Have a great Christmas y'all !

Publicité
Commentaires
P
My God! qu'est ce que c'est que ce truc de teinture au micro-ondes ? pas encore visité tout ton blog, note, je vais peut-être trouver la réponse ailleurs ... je me demande quelle sera la tête du chéri quand il contemplera les éclaboussures de sauce tomate, légumes éclatés et autres soupes, mêlées de couleurs inhabituelles, parme, pourpre, bleu lavande collées au plafond de l'engin.
S
Oh très jolis les modèles Dale !
H
Yarn crash? That pretty much sums up my permanent state of being!!
L
joyeux noël!!!!
M
Cela ressemble à un rêve ! quelle douceur cela doit être à tricoter...<br /> Have a nice knitting !
Publicité
Publicité